Pranks Gone Wrong

Digital Artifact :

The topic is inspired by my little cousin, I noticed that he watch a lot of prank on youtube and try to follow the prank to our family members. I know that he just wanna have some fun but my family and I do not think so, so I do a little study about the prank that not all the prank are “good” for people.

I do look at some Japanese TV prank show when I was young, they make fun of the people and laugh at people reaction. I think it is quite funny to me because it is unexpected.


One of the examples of Japanese TV prank show

Nowadays, youtube is a trend. People search a different kind of video to look at or many people wanted to be a YouTuber. “Pranks” is one of their topic of making video, people want views, they can earn more money by having more views on the video. They try to stand out and do something new or others could not do or even more dangerous. They never thought about the feelings of the people that being prank by them or someone will actually follow what they do in real life. They underestimated their power to the public, they do have an influence on the children or teenagers, someone would do the same things to be like them.

The harm of pranks can be extreme and unpredicted. The cases that I pointed out on the video are the examples. The unforgettable one is the “Ding, dong, ditch” prank. In fact, I also did “Ding, dong, ditch” to my neighbourhood when I was a little girl, I think it is fun for me and yes, I didn’t think about my neighbour’s feeling. They should feel annoyed by me, it is lucky for me that not being caught or any unhappy ending by this prank. In real life, it is not the only one accident after the prank “Ding, dong, ditch”. The other example is in northeast Oklahoma, a teenager playing the same prank and got shoot by his neighbour because he thought the boy was an armed intruder. It made the prank become a deadly game. (Staff ,2016)

It is great to make a prank to make everybody happy and joyful, but it is very important to think of people’s feeling before you do the prank. It is very dangerous to follow whatever you see on youtube, you need to think what is right or wrong, not all the YouTuber are worth for you to follow. Some of them communicate to the people before they do the prank, it is something outside the camera that the public don’t know but they can make sure the video or their act not offence to anyone.

Some people may say that it leads to a fake prank, they just act like they don’t know. But yes, some of them is really fake, but they do want more views in a safe condition to film their video. Do not make it too serious and think before you act.

MGNF974

 

Reference list :

Enthusiast T. (2013, September 05). Funny Japanese Crowd Prank. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_rf7CyvC2lM&w=560&h=315

Staff, C. (2016, January 03). Cops: Teen shot by homeowner may have been “ding dong ditching”. Retrieved from https://www.cbsnews.com/news/cops-teen-shot-by-homeowner-may-have-been-ding-dong-ditching/

Leave a comment