10.Digital Artefact : Advertisement​ on Instagram

https---blogs-images.forbes.com-gabrielshaoolian-files-2017-04-BFM-Header-Image-1200x666

Video :

    1. Idea
      I am a girl who very obsessed with Instagram, I use it for almost 10 years. At first, it is only a tool for me and my friends to communicate by uploading photos. Times go by, Instagram is not only a social media platform, but it can also be a business. People start their career by opening the Instagram shop or being a KOL. How do they stand out from all of the brands? Most of them will pay for an advertisement on Instagram.
      img_1594.png

Since I am a user, I can notice that there are so much more famous brands also put ads on IG story, for example, Dior or even Nestea. No matter which industry they are, they may also put ads on IG to attract people to buy their product.

The ads are no limitation on who you are or what you wanna show to the public, if you are not a brands, you can still pay for an ads to let public to know more about yourself, and tell people to follow your Instagram, even you are creating a game which can download on Apple store, you can also have an adv and bring everyone to download your games.

I know that it is so many advertising on the IG, but I still wonder how other people think about it. So I came up these few questions:

(1) How does Instagram user think about the advertising?
(2) Will the user really spend time on the advertising on Instagram?
(3) Is it worth to pay for an advertisement on Instagram?

2. The process of the research project

At first, I only have little knowledge about the past of advertising, I know I can search on google or youtube to found out more but I really want to know how the people think the transition of the advertising from the past to nowadays. So I asked my father, he is born in the generation which has the first TV and started to have a mobile phone and he is the man who travels all these timelines. I think it would be so fun to hear what he think about it.

He pointed out that when he was young, he only saw the advertising on the newspaper or some poster on the street, and all those posters are drawn by hand. It is quite special for me to hear that because all the poster I saw was drawn by the computer, colour printing if people drew the poster one by one it must be so hard but treasure. My father did think that advertising from the past is most bored, but now it is mostly made by video, it really catch people eyes. For me, I do love to watch the advertising on social media when I was boring, some of the ads nowadays are so creative that it can be made by day, so my father and I are the kind of person who will spend time on the ads on social media. After reach from my father opinion, I found two friends who are addicted to Instagram.

Since they spend so many time on Instagram, they must saw so many ads in a day, so I really want to know about their feeling on the ads.

3. The process of Interview

To find out all the answers I want of this study, I found two Instagram users and one Instagram shop owner who already pay for advertisements on Instagram. They are the potential stakeholder that they are directly related to the topic. I want to find out the opinions on a different point of views.

I mostly ask about how they feel on seeing so many ads on Instagram, will they skip and ignore it or spend time on it. I will also ask them about their experience from the advertising.

I found an interesting answer that one of the users did pay attention to the ads and she really bought a bag just because she saw it on Instagram’s advertising, that’s mean the advertising it really works. It did attract people to buy something and give them a chance to know more about the product.

For the Instagram shop owner is the most surprise me, I have no ideas on how the ads work on Instagram. It is very nice to hear that every time they pay for advertising, the Instagram will collect all the customer data and send a report to them, it can help the people to know more about the habit of their target audience which really help people to gain followers or make good use of their business.

4. The process of the video

It is not my first time to edit a video, so I have confidence at first, but I have so many clips or audio I have to deal with, it is kinda messy. I try my best to make it more organised so that the audience can get more information or help from my video. I haven’t used music because I have too much audio inside the video, I do not want to mess up the voice-over or interviewees voice. I hope people will not get bored and pay attention to the video that I made.

The biggest challenge is the noise background of the audio, I have to re-record the voice over or some of the clips. It is very nice to my friends who support me and doesn’t mind I do the second interview with them just because I have bad audio for the first time. So I actually did twice on the same interview, it is glad that the second time is good enough for me to put on the video and it is clear.

5. Conclusion

I really do my best to finish this study and it is an interesting experience for me to know more about that something I may not notice about. Although I use Instagram every day, I may see so many ads in one day, it is fun to found out people feelings and the truth of the other side (the Instagram shop owner). It is really a chance for me to know more people in a different industry, it does help my career or make a new friends and learn from them.

 

Leave a comment