Short Reflection

This is my really first time to do research, I have no idea on how to set up a good questionnaire and hold a focus group, these are all new to me. At least, I tried my best to do it and keep improving.

At the beginning of the research process, I need to make a title or find out what I really want to do for research, it is quite hard for me because I do not really know what is a good research title, so I do not have a clear direction at first, I just want to do something that I like which is “Food”, so I decided to do a research on “Food Blog”, this is how a start.

Making the questionnaire is the second difficulties for me, since I do not have a clear direction on Food Blog, the question I set was so general. A food blog has so many types, e.g. restaurant review, food video sharing or a detailed recipe. I do not choose a specified one and all the question become too general. And I set too many yes or no question, I know it was wasted time and only collected little data, so I made so improvement at the second version of the questionnaire. I am so glad that I had made some changing on the questions, I collected more useful data from the second version and I can really know more about the habit of food blogs of the respondents.

Also, the focus group, I really so nervous to hold my first focus group, I am a shy girl and I know I need to relax and ask the question that I set to the respondents, I think I can be more natural and less nervous so the respondents can more easily to express their feeling or opinions.

If I am going to do my second research, I would definitely set a more clear title or direction so that I can easily to do my research. I may know my target audience and set the questionnaire more specify and from a different angle to know more about the thing that I want to research. I can collect more different kind and useful data which is valuable for my research. I would definitely be more casual and less nervous while having the focus group, I want everybody to feel free to talk to me and talk more and more. I think I have a big responsibility on host a focus group because I am the one to ask the question, I need to lead the people to answer more and tell me more so that I can find out more valuable answers from their point of view.

However, I think it is quite an interesting experience for me, I learn a lot and very appreciate to all the respondents who help me through this research process.

Leave a comment