Reflection

I was a media student before, I learn how to edit the video, pre-production, take the photo. I had never learned about the industries of the media or even the relationship between media and global culture so after the course “Transnational Media and Culture Industries”, it really widens my horizons.

At first, I think it is quite difficult for me to catch up the course since we have to write the blogs, and I think writing is not an easy job for me so I was very confused about it.

However, I started to love the course, I really love the topic of reality TV and the translation of comedy and drama. I am a reality show lover, so the topic really draws my attention. And the lesson is easy to follow with a lot of examples. It is very interesting to know that a similar TV show in two countries might have quite a lot different. I never want to compare two similar TV show until this course and it is fun. For example “The Block” and “Huset” come from a different country, one is Australia and the other one is Denmark. Although they are the show that people need to rebuild or reform the apartments, “The Block” is the show that full of drama and emotion but “Huset” is more about team-building and renovating. So we can see that the focus of the audience is different from these two countries.

The-Block-s11-1200x600.jpg

It is something that I wouldn’t learn when I am just a media student. I will try my best to do the production but I may not think about what the audience wants, I only focus on what I think is good. It is really important to know what the audience focus on since every producer produces a show or video just want to be a hit and get more audience to support so knowing the needs of the target audience is the most important thing.

Besides the reality show, co-production is also my favourite topic of this course. The media industry may not only focus on the domestic markets but also expand to the overseas by co-production. It is a very good chance to let the actor shine, exchange the creative idea or the skills in the media industry. It can help reduce cultural barriers and gain more audiences and easy to enter the industry of another country. For example, Jackie Chan has already made some movie film on the foreign country about Kung Fu. Since Kung Fu is from China, if India wants to make a Kung Fu movie is quite difficult for them, because they have no professional actor who is good at it. Through Co-production, China and India can cooperate to make a Kung Fu movie in India. India can provide the professional production of making the movie and China can provide professional actor like Jackie Chan. Two countries can both take advantage of co-production. It can help to know the different culture of the country, expand the market and having some creative idea while being cooperation.

Through this course, I really learn a lot about the media industry, it is not that difficult that I thought, and I quite enjoy it since I can know more background in the media industry. I think this knowledge can help me in my future career since I really want to work in the media industry. 🙂

Leave a comment